top of page

11. Final test shots

This test shot is meant to be of production quality - there are a few things I would change, but I'm overall happy with the method and that I can polish it up a bit!

I scanned in my paper and created a sequence that transitions to a frame within a frame; getting more 'textured'. This was a second attempt after the first a few weeks ago wasn't super smooth. But I think it's convincing here.

While my initial intention was to have tangible frames, with drawings on the paper itself; it looks a lot neater drawn digitally. And is easier to manipulate. I've also animated the background on threes and the action on twos in an effort to prevent it from looking too busy. I think this is the main concern - that the textures are too much. I like it; but will need to get some other opinions to make sure it wont detract from the film itself. If it seems that is the case then I'd like to stick with the idea of the frame within a frame to differentiate from the bathroom setting, but can maybe just use block black and white instead.

Because this section of the film is a bit busy, I also wanted to have a production quality shot of one of the more naturalistic moments. I've used the bathroom sketches I made perviously (with some more details) and overlaid them onto the papery background. There's no action here, I just wanted to present how it will look.

This example has boiling lines and a moving background - but it might be a bit much...

So I also tried out the shot with a static drawing on top of the boiling paper background:

I think this is a bit less manic. And will probably work better with the character when she's introduced. I figure if the paper and the character are boiling, then it makes sense to have the drawn backgrounds still for more contrast and to draw attention to the woman.

bottom of page